Monday, June 22, 2009

Wraps come off 2010 Emirates Airline International Festival of Literature; Thirty three remarkable international authors to be among the central char

22nd June 2009, Dubai, UAE: The first collection of central characters in the eagerly anticipated sequel to the Emirates Airline Festival of Literature (EAIFL) was announced today. Thirty three international authors have already confirmed their participation in the Middle East’s largest annual literary festival, guaranteeing EAIFL 2010 will be another captivating bestseller. The Festival will be held under the patronage of the HH Sheikh Majid Bin Mohammed Al Maktoum, Chairman of Dubai Culture, from 10th to 13th March 2010.
‘’The setting is stunning, with an inspired plot and thirty three remarkable characters already on the scene - EAIFL 2010 promises to be a literary masterpiece. EAIFL will provide an unmissable weekend of debates, storytelling and poetry reading so make sure you mark 10th – 13th March 2010 on your calendars today,’’ said Isobel Abulhoul, Festival Director. ‘’We’ve incorporated a lot of feedback from attendees of EAIFL 2009 and we are bringing together a diverse and balanced line-up of authors that represent the interests of the different communities living in Dubai.’’
Some of the leading lights of international fiction have already signed up to participate in the 2010 Festival, including Martin Amis, Mark Billingham, Tim Butcher, Christopher Cleave, Isabel Fonseca, James Meek and Alexander McCall Smith. Non-fiction stars include cookery writer and broadcaster Anjum Anand, historian William Dalrymple, best-selling author of ‘33 Strategies of War’, Robert Greene, historian Robert Lacey, one of the leading experts on history and international relations, Margaret MacMillan and biographer DJ Taylor.
Arabic literature will be represented by some of the foremost contemporary Arabic authors including Sudanese writer Leila Abouleila, celebrated Libyan poet Khaled Mattawa, distinguished author Adhaf Souief, Palestinian writer and winner of the 2008 Orwell prize, Raja Shehadeh, Arabic Booker prize-winning author, Bahaa Taher and Winner of the 2009 Arabic Booker prize, Professor Yossef Ziedan.

Maurice Flanagan, Executive Vice Chairman, Emirates Airline and Group, said: "Continuing on the tremendous success of last year's inaugural festival, Emirates is proud to continue its sponsorship of this pioneering event. Emirates is a dedicated supporter of the arts and culture, both locally and internationally. Through EAIFL, we work to continue to support literature and the growth of this creative industry. As a multi-award winning airline, we value creativity and innovation and recognise this in masters of the written word."

Children and young adults set for treat as ‘superstar’ authors sign up for EAIFL 2010
In response to demand from visitors to EAIFL 2009, the 2010 programme will showcase even more children’s authors and writers for young adults. The line-up of children’s authors will include Caroline Lawrence, best known for ‘’The Roman Mysteries’’ series of historical novels for children and Michelle Paver, author of the very popular ‘’Chronicles of Ancient Darkness’’ series. Young children will be delighted to hear that the Sunday Times bestselling children’s author Gervase Phinn as well as Ian Whybrow, author of ‘’Harry and the Bucketful of Dinosaurs’’ series will be in attendance.
EAIFL 2010 has secured some of biggest names in the young adults genre including the best-selling author Conn Iggulden and Darren Shan, author of the vampire series ‘’Saga’’ and the demon series "The Demonata’’. Adult fiction writer Mark Billingham also writes novels for young adults under the pseudonym of Will Peterson and he will be on hand to talk about his popular trilogy of paranormal thrillers for older children.
A number of popular authors from EAIFL 2009 will be returning to Dubai for EAIFL 2010. On the English language side these include author and broadcaster Kate Adie, author and translator Denys Johnson Davies and biographer Alexander Maitland. Returning Arabic authors include Iraqi poet Fadhil al-Azzawi, Emirati poet and film-director Nujoom al Ghanem, Emirati writer HE Mohamed Al Murr and Iraqi author Samuel Shimon.
There will be an increased emphasis on education and learning at EAIFL 2010. Last year’s creative writing workshops will be back by popular demand alongside new subject areas such as drama and translation.

No comments: